Skip navigation

My ultimate goal is to create virtual meeting places for all of my courses.

Students and teacher should be able to:

  • get there from any computer (device) in and out of school
  • see all materials from the course (syllabus, calendars, notes, presentations, etc.)
  • post or privately send their assignments
  • follow their progress (confidently)
  • communicate in real time
  • deliver instructions over internet to groups or individuals (instructor to students and student to student, )
  • perform assessment (online tests, quizzes, projects)
  • “strangers” have ability to “see but not touch”
  • And… If you have something else to add to this list, please do.

Help if you know any existing tool or combination of tools that can perform these tasks, or share links to similar projects.

Any help will be appreciated!!!

9 Comments

  1. How about Wikispaces? You could do all of those things on there except maybe communicate in real time. See my wiki for our three grade 7/8 classes at http://senioreagles.wikispaces.com/

    For delivering instructions you could embed a video or voice thread.
    It’s really easy to use and simple. I use it often.

    • Oh, and what is really cool about our Wiki is that there are three teachers collaborating on it with our 75 grade 7/8 students.

  2. Hello,

    I think you have a great idea here and I like the things you are planning to include.

    I don’t know a lot about the tools you would use to do this, but I am going to ask a question…

    Will you be able to accomplish your goals for all of your classes before the end of this course, or are you planning on focusing on one for the course and completing the rest after?

    • Hopefully, first stage will be finished before end of this course (Testing on life students is in plans). Next semester I will definitely go full blast.

  3. Sounds like a good start, Step.

    As Angela says, I am not sure what tools you are going to use, but that will certainly play a part in all of this. Let me know if you need to think more about the logistics.

    • I‘ve been reading about Moodle education toolset. What do you think will be better in my case: Wiki, Moodle or something entirely different? (high school math)

  4. I’ve used http://wiggio.com/ and it is pretty nice mixture of elluminate type meeting space, poll, emails, and what not. They are very new and seem to be getting better everyday.

  5. I have a few suggestions for online meeting spaces. My favorites are http://edu20.org and http://wiggio.com I use the two together for my virtual classroom.

  6. If you are interested in virtual learning communities be sure and check out the research by Richard Schwier on this topic – he is a real expert!


Leave a Reply

